Google authentication help

Below you will find details on how to authenticate your GooSync account with Google so that you can synchronise your Calendar and Contacts.

If you need to ask specific technical questions please submit these to our support forum.


Google Calendar Account Type
Google Calendar Authentication (Personal)
Google Calendar Authentication (Google Apps)
Google Contacts Account Type
Google Contacts Authentication (Personal)
Google Contacts Authentication (Google Apps)
Successful Google Authentication
Password Authentication
Removing Authentication Settings


Google Calendar Account Type

The first time you select the Change link for Google Calendar authentication you will be prompted to select your Google account type.

Google Calendar Account Type

If you are unsure on which option to select you should be able to determine your account type based on where you log into your Google Calendar account.

If you go to Google and log into your Calendar from there (see image below) then this indicates that it is a personal Google Calendar account.

Personal Google Calendar Account

However, if you log into your Google Calendar account from your companies domain (such as SyncBucket.com) then this indicates that you are using a Google Apps Calendar account. See the image below for an example of the Google Apps Calendar login screen for the SyncBucket.com domain.

Google Apps Calendar Account

If you are still unsure please ask your organisations network administrator as they should be able to tell you whether you are using a personal or a Google Apps Calendar account.

Back to top


Google Calendar Authentication (Personal)

If you are using a personal Google Calendar account you will need to select the top option and then click the Authorize button (as shown below).

Google Personal Calendar Authentication

You will then be taken to Google and shown the screen below (please ensure you are logged into the correct Google account). On here you will need to click the Grant Access button to finish the authentication process.

Google Personal Calendar Authentication

Back to top


Google Calendar Authentication (Google Apps)

If you are using a Google Apps Calendar account you will need to select the bottom option, enter your Google Apps domain name (e.g. SyncBucket.com) and then click the Authorize button (as shown below).

Google Apps Calendar Authentication

You will then be taken to your Google Apps account and shown the screen below (please ensure you are logged into the correct Google Apps account). On here you will need to click the Grant Access button to finish the authentication process.

Google Apps Calendar Authentication

If you enter an incorrect domain name on the GooSync Google Calendar Authentication page and try to authenticate you will see the screen below. If this happens please go back to GooSync and enter the correct domain name.

Incorrect Google Apps Domain

Back to top


Google Contacts Account Type

The first time you select the Change link for Google Contacts authentication you will be prompted to select your Google account type.

Google Contacts Account Type

If you are unsure on which option to select you should be able to determine your account type based on where you log into your Google Mail account.

If you go to Google and login to view your Mail from there (see image below) then this indicates that it is a personal Google Mail account.

Personal Google Mail Account

However, if you log into your Google Mail account from your companies domain (such as SyncBucket.com) then this indicates that you are using a Google Apps Mail account. See the image below for an example of the Google Apps Mail login screen for the SyncBucket.com domain.

Google Apps Mail Account

If you are still unsure please ask your organisations network administrator as they should be able to tell you whether you are using a personal or a Google Apps Mail account.

Back to top


Google Contacts Authentication (Personal)

If you are using a personal Google Mail account you will need to select the top option and then click the Authorize button (as shown below).

Google Personal Contacts Authentication

You will then be taken to Google and shown the screen below (please ensure you are logged into the correct Google account). On here you will need to click the Grant Access button to finish the authentication process.

Google Personal Contacts Authentication

Back to top


Google Contacts Authentication (Google Apps)

If you are using a Google Apps Mail account you will need to select the bottom option, enter your Google Apps domain name (e.g. SyncBucket.com) and then click the Authorize button (as shown below).

Google Apps Contacts Authentication

You will then be taken to your Google Apps account and shown the screen below (please ensure you are logged into the correct Google Apps account). On here you will need to click the Grant Access button to finish the authentication process.

Google Apps Contacts Authentication

If you enter an incorrect domain name on the GooSync Google Contacts Authentication page and try to authenticate you will see the screen below. If this happens please go back to GooSync and enter the correct domain name.

Incorrect Google Apps Domain

Back to top


Successful Google Authentication

Once the authentication process has been completed successfully your Connections page will be updated to reflect this.

Successful Authentication

Your next step is to select and configure your device (if not already done). Go to the GooSync Home page and select your device when prompted.

Finally you will need to configure your calendar settings. These are done on the GooSync Calendars page.

If your GooSync account already had a device selected, and you simply changed your Google Calendar authentication, you will need to refresh your calendar list to ensure you have the correct calendar links in your account.

Full details on calendar configuration can be found on the GooSync Calendars Help page.

Back to top


Password Authentication

If you are currently using Google Password Authentication on your GooSync account this option will remain available to you. However, if you choose to delete your Google Authentication settings you will no longer be able to use the Password Authentication option.

Back to top


Removing Authentication Settings

If you need to remove your Google Authentication settings from your GooSync account you can do so by simply using the Delete My Google Settings button, which will be displayed once you have authenticated with Google.

Back to top